Description/ Tasting NotesIntense colour with clean nose and delicate oak. Very elegant wine.
Winery Info/ Brand
Originally a small vineyard planted around the Church of St-Martin by Jean Biès in the early 18th Century, the estate was named Clos St-Martin, sold in 1760 to Jacques Kanon, probably the source of the name Canon. A true clos, the original 12 hectare vineyard was encircled by a wall, which Kanon expanded by acquiring seven small surrounding vineyards. He sold it on in 1770 with great profit to Raymond Fontémoing, a leading Libournais négociant. Still named Clos St-Martin, the name was not altered until 1853, when the modern name was taken, to the fury of the proprietors of Château Canon of Fronsac.
Region Info/ Origin
Saint-Emilion is a charming medieval village located in the heart of the famous Bordeaux wine area. It is a unique site where world-famous wineries, beautiful architecture and great monuments can be found. The legend tells a story about a monk, Emilion, from Brittany who fled from his hometown in Vannes to seek refuge in the eighth century. Living the life of a hermit, he accomplished a few miracles and rapidly became famous in the region and even far beyond its border. Even after his death his followers carried on his legacy and even named the town after his name. From the ninth century to the 19th century, men had the will to mine the soil in order to standardise the whole architectural looking of not only the city of Saint-Emilion but also a few ones in the region (such as Right Banc Bordeaux).